Harvard Alumni Association president Cynthia Torres AB '80, MBA '84 announced the results of the annual election of new members of the Harvard Board of Overseers and HAA Elected Directors at the Annual Meeting of the Harvard Alumni Association following the University's 364th Commencement.

2015 Harvard Board of Overseers Election Results

The five newly elected Overseers are:

R. Martin Chávez AB '85 magna cum laude, SM '85
Chief Information Officer and Partner, The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.
New York, New York

Fernande R. V. Duffly JD '78
Associate Justice, Massachusetts Supreme Judicial Court
Boston, Massachusetts

Brian Greene AB '84 summa cum laude
Professor of Physics and Mathematics, Columbia University
New York, New York

Beth Y. Karlan AB '78 magna cum laude, MD '82
Director, Women's Cancer Program, Samuel Oschin Comprehensive Cancer Institute; Director, Division of Gynecologic Oncology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center; and Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, David Geffen School of Medicine, University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, California

John Silvanus Wilson, Jr. MTS '81, EdM '82, EdD '85
President, Morehouse College
Atlanta, Georgia

The five Overseers were elected for six-year terms. They were chosen from a slate of eight candidates, who were nominated by a Harvard Alumni Association committee in accordance with the election rules. Harvard degree holders cast 26,400 ballots in the election.

The primary function of the Board of Overseers is to encourage the University to maintain the highest attainable standards as a place of learning. Drawing on the diverse experience and expertise of its members, the Board exerts broad influence over the University's strategic direction, provides essential counsel to the University's leadership on priorities and plans, has the power to consent to certain actions such as the election of Corporation members, and directs the visitation process by which a broad array of Harvard schools and departments are periodically reviewed.

2015 HAA Elected Director Election Results

The six newly elected HAA Elected Directors are:

Paige Ennis MPA '10
Vice President, Office of External Relations, Atlantic Council
Washington, D.C.

Ellen M. Guidera MBA '86
Investor and Director, Portillo Ski Resort and Tierra Hotels
Santiago, Chile

Andrew Herwitz AB '83 magna cum laude, JD '90 cum laude
President, The Film Sales Company
New York, New York

Sharon E. Jones AB '77 cum laude, JD '82
President/CEO, OH Community Partners
Chicago, Illinois

Tracy "Ty" Moore II AB '06 cum laude
Co-founder, MindBlown Labs
Oakland, California

Ariel Zwang AB '85 cum laude, MBA '90
CEO, Safe Horizon
New York, New York

The six new Elected Directors were each elected for three-year terms. They were chosen from a slate of nine candidates, who were nominated by a Harvard Alumni Association committee according to the election rules. Harvard degree holders cast 25,685 ballots in the election.

Posted In